New Jersey Hall of Fame Announces 50 Nominees for 2018 Public Vote

Published on

Online Public Voting Ends December 15


The New Jersey Hall of Fame (NJHOF) has announced 50 nominees in five categories for its Class of 2018: Arts & Letters, Enterprise, Performing Arts, Public Service, and Sports. Public voting is now underway online at
The 11th class of inductees will be announced in January, and the induction ceremony will take place in May of 2019. “Since 2008, we have inducted a broad spectrum of New Jersey heroes into the Hall of Fame,” said Jon F. Hanson, chairman of the NJHOF. “This year’s class of nominees strongly reflect the diverse backgrounds and accomplishments that have characterized the hall of fame since its inception.”
“We’re honored to carry on our longstanding tradition of promoting the best that New Jersey has to offer,” said Steve Edwards, president of the NJHOF. “I’m con- tinuously amazed by the wealth of role models that our state produces, and proud that we have the opportunity to bring recognition to those who truly deserve it.” The public is encouraged to visit the NJ Hall of Fame website to cast their vote for a nominee in each of the five categories listed below. Full biographies of the nominees, as well as online voting, can be found at
Peter Benchley, author and ocean activist, known for writing the novel “Jaws”; Stephen Crane, author of “Red Badge of Courage”; Joyce Kilmer, journalist and poet, author of Trees; Fran Lebowitz, author, known for social commentary on American life; Anne Morrow Lindbergh, author, aviator, and wife of aviator Charles Lindbergh; George R.R. Martin, author, best known for his series of epic fantasy novels, “A Song of Ice and Fire,” later adapted into the television series “Game of Thrones”; John Forbes Nash, Jr., mathematician and fundamental contributor to game theory, differential geometry and the study of partial differential equations; George Segal, actor, nominated for Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor for performance in “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”; Gay Talese, writer, penned famous articles about Joe DiMaggio and Frank Sinatra; and Timothy White, photographer of celebrities ranging from Julia Roberts to Outkast.
Anthony Bourdain, celebrity chef, author, and travel documentarian, starred in programs focusing on the exploration of international culture and cuisine; James E. Burke, CEO of Johnson & Johnson; Leonard S. Coleman, Jr., last president of baseball’s National League; J. Fletcher Creamer, Sr., chief executive officer of J. Fletcher Creamer & Son, Inc.; Fred Morgan Kirby, served as chairman and chief executive of the Alleghany Corporation, transformed company’s specialty from railroad holdings to insurance and investment; Tim McLoone, founder and president of Holiday Express; Denise Morrison, former president and chief execu- tive officer of Campbell Soup Company; Dr. Victor Parsonnet, cardiac surgeon who contributed significantly to the evolution of cardiac pacemaking; Mary G. Roebling, first woman to serve as president of a major U.S. bank; Arthur F. Ryan, businessman and first outsider to become chief executive officer of Prudential Insurance; and George R. Zoffinger, president and chief executive officer of the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority.
Danny Aiello, actor, earned nomination for Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in “Do the Right Thing”; Jason Alexander, actor, known for his role as George Costanza in the television series “Seinfeld”; Peter Dinklage, actor, portrays Tyrion Lannister on the television series “Game of Thrones”; Whoopi Gold- berg, actress, comedian, television host, and won an Emmy Award, a Grammy Award, an Academy Award, and a Tony Award; Anne Hathaway, actress, winner of Academy Award for Best Actress for role in “Les Misérables”; Ed Harris, three-time nominee for the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in “Apollo 13,” “The Truman Show,” and “The Hours”; Chris Rock, comedian, actor, winner of four Emmy Awards and three Grammy Awards; Patti Smith, singer-songwriter, poet, fused rock and poetry in work; The Smithereens, rock band that has headlined New Jersey stages from the Meadowlands Arena to the State Theatre; and Phoebe Snow, singer, songwriter, and guitarist, known for 1975 song “Poetry Man.”
Samuel Alito, Jr., Associate Justice of the Supreme Court; Elizabeth Almira Allen, teachers’ rights advocate, first woman president of the New Jersey Education Association; Virginia Apgar, obstetrical anesthesiologist, inventor of the Apgar score; Alfred Driscoll, 43rd governor of New Jersey, former Republican New Jersey senator representing Camden County, and president of Warner-Lambert; Louis Freeh, attorney and former judge who served as the fifth director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); Milton Friedman, economist, winner of 1976 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, advisor to President Ronald Reagan and British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher; Antonin Scalia, former Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, was longest-serving Justice on the Court; Richard Stockton, signer of the Declaration of Independence, Associate Justice of the State Supreme Court and namesake of Stockton Uni- versity; Paul Volcker, economist, chairman of the Federal Reserve under Presidents Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan; and Theodore V. “Ted” Wells, attorney, partner at the law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP, represents range of high-profile clients.
Rick Barry, named one of the 50 Greatest Players in History by the NBA; G. Harry Carson, New York Giants star inside linebacker, helped the Giants win Super Bowl XXI; Gerry Cooney, former star professional boxer; Anne Donovan, women’s basketball player and coach, won two Olympic gold medals, first woman to coach a WNBA Championship Team; Laurie Hernandez, gymnast, winner of two Olympic medals in 2016 Summer Olympics; Jerry Izenberg, sports journalist with The Newark Star- Ledger, known for covering many memorable sporting events and figures of the late Twentieth century; John McMullen, sports columnist for, NFL Insider for ESPN South Jersey; Bart Oates, football player for the New York Giants and San Francisco 49ers, three-time Super Bowl champion, five-time Pro Bowler; David Stern, former commissioner of the NBA; and Paul Tagliabue, former commissioner of the NFL.